Lil Wayne – I Am Not A Human Being (Album Review)

By Keir Bristol

On Monday, September 27, Lil Wayne released his latest album, I Am Not A Human Being. I’m currently studying in London, so I forgot for a little while. But I remembered as I was writing my College Magazine column this week, so I decided to write a review as a bonus. There will be more of those in the future. Thank me later.

For the most part, I Am Not A Human Being is a hip-hop album, with the exception of the rock-influenced title track. The first single off of the album is “I’m Single,” which has been playing on the radio since the summer. I’m not a big fan of the rhyming in the song but the beat is solid and smooth. Definitely a slower summer banger. Mr. Carter also recently released his video for “I Am Not A Human Being” (watch it here). It’s one of the more interesting tracks on the album, because again, it’s the only rock influenced track. It sounds like a leftover from the controversial “Rebirth” album and certainly lives up to its name.

Lil Wayne recruited the Young Money crew on the album of course, so expect some hooks from Nicki Minaj (“What’s Wrong With Them”, “YM Anthem”) and raps and choruses from Drake (“With You”, “Right Above It”, “I’m Single”). Note: my favorite song off the album is “With You.” Producer StreetRunner samples a beautiful track by Valerie Simpson and Drake’s vocals on the track sound fantastic.

Also, look out for Jay Sean, the newest signee to Young Money Records on “That Ain’t Me;” does he rival Drake’s hooks? You be the judge. “Popular” featuring Lil Twist gets points off for opening with the infamous signature lines, “She got that good good, she’s Michael Jackson bad, I’m attracted to her, with her attractive ass.” Sound familiar? It should, because it’s the opening to “Every Girl (In The World)” off of the We Are Young Money compilation.

It seems to me that as Lil Wayne becomes more established as the “best rapper alive” (rivaled by Eminem, Jay-Z, and the ever-modest Kanye West) he gets lazier with his raps. His metaphors are what makes him stand out, but can also sometimes be his downfall. Sometimes he takes it too far. Example: “Shawty bad like a three-year-old. Keep playing and I’mma eat her like a pita roll.” Pita roll? That’s the best you’ve got, Weezy?

I know he can do better than what he offers on I Am Not A Human Being. And Wayne is hard-working, so I don’t think this has anything to do with his current jail-sentence. Don’t get me wrong; it’s a good album. Just don’t expect it to be in the ranks with Tha Carter trilogy, although it might hold you over until the fourth installment is released. I will be interested to see what he does when he gets out (Free Weezy!)

Leave a Reply

